Oulu Music Video Festival’s full programme has been released!


The theme for the 26th festival is Hot Mess. The programme is packed full of interesting screenings, visual albums, movies, clubs and festival guests.

Visual albums screened at the festival include FKA Twigs’ M3LL155X, Tove Lo’s Fairy Dust and Tierra Whack’s Whack World. M3LL155X was nominated for the best visual effects and best choreography at the 2016 MTV Video Music Awards and is directed by FKA Twigs herself. Tove Lo’s Fairy Dust is a movie about painful relationships, sex, drugs and endless escaping. Tierra Whack’s Whack World is a 15-minute visual album built around her debut album.

This year’s movie program features documentary and fiction movies.

French Kiss Goes to Oulu will get its world premiere at the festival. It tells the story of the French air guitarist French Kiss and his son making their way to the Air Guitar World Championship. Mystinen Metsämies premiered at the Midnight sun Festival this summer and it tells the story of Pekka Myllykoski. Myllykoski was the singer of Freud Marx Engels & Jung who balanced his life between country music, academia and alcohol. Avaruusromua presents: Monuments of the Concrete Era is VJ Indigo’s tribute to concrete monuments accompanied by a soundtrack of previously unpublished Finnish electronic music. Shut Up and Play the Piano! mixes fact and fiction, telling the life story of cult piano star Chilly Gonzales. Set in 1994 in Scotland, the fictional Beats is a story of friends who want to experience illegal raves. The film is directed by Brian Welsh of Black Mirror fame, and produced by long-time filmmaker Steven Soderbergh. The movie depicts a time of legislative change, when authorities strived to eliminate rave culture. M is the debut film of Anna Erikson who is more commonly known as a pop musician. Otto Suuronen has also curated a series of Finnish short films which will be screened at the festival.

Jean-Noel Mustonen will present his filmography at his retrospective screening. Depending on who you ask, Mustonen has shot 70-200 music videos. He has been involved with for example music video for Lordi and The Crash. Estonian Anna-Lisa Himma will give a master class where she showcases her work with rap artist Tommy Cash. Screenwriter Anna Brotkin presents her music video favourites from the 90’s and academic Roos Hekkens has curated an animated music video screening. French post-production expert Clément Chasseray will detail his work with digital editing at his workshop. VHS-klubi from Tampere will showcase their analog video mixing at their workshop and the music video screening curated by Pehmee-collective explores the roles of brown and marginalized bodies in music videos. For the 8th time Veli Kauppinen presents his classic Sunday screening Velinen Sunnuntai.

After parties will be held at famed venue 45 Special from Thursday to Saturday. The club programme includes live performances from Carte Blanche video show curators Jukka Nousiainen and Draama-Helmi, last year’s Teinipumpeli winner joku iiris, Danish house artist Central, rock band Möyhy-Veikot, live music house/techno act Serot, local trio Money & Gravy and Salaċ from Bristol. There will also be a screening of videos by Max Kelan. The club visuals will be made by VJ Indigo and other guest VJs. Saturday will also see Matti Salo’s live gig at De Gamlas Hem Hotel & Restaurant.

During the festival you can gather your thoughts at the Silakkalounge where local deejays provide the soundtrack for waiting for screenings as well as chilling with your friends after them. This year there’s also a live set at Silakkalounge, as Irene will perform at Friday’s after-work at Konst o. Deli. Voodoo Child (Eternal Return) is a performance piece curated by Mike Watson, that will be held at Valvesali. The festival culminates at Pumpeligaala, the awards gala at Hotelli Lasaretti.

This year there will also be a group exhibition that mirrors the theme of the festival, Hot Mess, at Valvegalleria. Emma Ainala, Hemuloordi, J.A. Juvani and Munalissu are amongst the artists whose art is included.